National Aviation Day

Today I have seen several posts about National Aviation Day, so of course I had to check and see what it was all about.

I am also in Canada, so am thinking about things Canadian. Could I come up with something that has elements from both?

The Wright Brothers, How they invented the airplane, Newbery Honor Book, Russell FreedmanA quick google found that today is National Aviation Day and also the anniversary of the birth of Orville Wright. He was born August 19, 1871.

The image above is the cover of The Wright Brothers: How They Invented the Airplane by Russell Freedman. The book was a Newbery Honor book and is therefore one of the books that I have read for my Newbery Challenge.

The book is illustrated with original pictures taken by the Wright brothers as they invented the airplane.

I am distantly related to the Wright brothers, but that is a different post. If you are family and wondering if it is through your side of the family, it is actually through both.

Canadian Air Force, Castle Air Force Base, Castle Air MuseumNow for the Canadian part of the post. National Aviation Day while in Canada caused my mind to wander to this picture that I took at the Castle Air Museum in Atwater, California.

The great outdoor aviation museum includes a Canada Armed Forces jet. You can see the Maple Leaf in several places on the plane.

For more from the Castle Air Museum you can click on Castle Air or The Blackbird.

Air Canada, Flight to Toronto, SFO Airport, National Aviation Day, A320I also flew to Toronto in an A320. Here is the Air Canada plane arriving at the gate in San Francisco.

September 11, 2001 - 9/11 - Planes on runway in Edmonton, Canada - Long JourneyUnfortunately, being in Canada also reminds me of the day that I didn’t plan on being in Edmonton, Canada. You can read about it here: Remembering September 11

I am also remembering my first flight when I was 17 years old. We flew from Oklahoma City to Houston on Southwest Airlines for our Senior Trip.

I have flown a bit since 🙂

Do you remember your first flight?

Steven

This entry was posted in Canada, Culture, Memories, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to National Aviation Day

  1. Sheryl says:

    My first flight was from Williamsport PA to Pittsburgh. I remember being very surprised that it wasn’t as scary as I thought it would be. Like you, I’ve flown a lot since then.

  2. Glenda McDougal says:

    Interesting!!

  3. Pingback: Harriet Quimby | Braman's Wanderings

  4. Pingback: Books about Flying | Braman's Wanderings

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.