Hamburg Memories

This weekend I am thinking of Hamburg, Iowa as they celebrate Popcorn Day. I also just brought home a couple more of my Grandma’s scrapbooks.

In one of them I found two images that brought back memories of previous posts. They also brought back memories of my Grandpa and Grandma.

Hamburg, Iowa IOOF Building - Old Brick Building - Uneven spaced windows - Hamburg - Odd Fellows Building

This first picture is of the Odd Fellow Building in Hamburg.

When I first saw this picture I thought that it was the same one that I took pictures of for my post Hamburg Windows.

The windows on the front of the building have the same irregular spacing and also have the same lintels.

Then I started thinking that the building had the road on the wrong side of it.

Of course, I then read the caption and found that this old brick building is no longer standing.

My Grandma had written a note below the picture that Interstate Nurseries used this building for storage. My Grandpa was in and out of this building on a regular basis.

The next picture brings together Popcorn Day and Interstate Nurseries.

Hamburg, Iowa Post Card - World Famous for Popcorn and Nursery Production - Popcorn Day - Interstate Nurseries

I don’t have a color picture of this postcard, but I can just imagine the colorful flowers blooming in the picture. This is just a clipping from the newspaper.

The postcard highlights two things that Hamburg is World Famous for, Popcorn and Nursery Production.

This weekend Hamburg is celebrating Popcorn Day and my Grandpa worked for Interstate Nurseries for many years. This picture brings back so many memories.

Here where I live we have an annual Dried Bean Festival, Stockton has an Asparagus Festival and my friends in Patterson have an Apricot Fiesta.

Do you have a festival or community event that brings back memories for you?

Steven

Link Recap:

Grandma

Grandpa

Grandpa and Grandma

Hamburg Windows

Apricot Fiesta

This entry was posted in Family History, Memories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Hamburg Memories

  1. gpcox says:

    Celebrating popcorn day depicts the small-town atmosphere I miss from childhood. My memory is of the yearly parade on the island of Broad Channel, NY. – the whole town turned out +

  2. The Idaho Spud Festival is always the third Saturday in September in the nearby town of Shelly. No one does potatoes like Idaho! I think I would love a popcorn festival. The magic jukebox in my mind pulled up two Iowa songs: “Oh I know, all I owe, I owe Iowa…” from Rogers and Hammerstein’s State Fair, and “Oh, there’s nothing half-way about the Iowa way to treat you (if we treat you, which we may not do at all…) from The Music Man. I wonder if Hamburg is anything like the ideas I have from those musicals?

  3. Boomdeeadda says:

    When I first saw the abbreviation on that building I thought about ‘Independent Order Of Foresters. But I guess they’re actually I.O.F. My parents used to belong years ago I think thru an uncle that sold Insurance. I love old buildings, they’re so interesting. In Edmonton 104 Street downtown is primarily historical brick buildings all modernized inside. Some are shops, condo’s or retail. That’s where the Farmers Market is on Saturdays too.

    I was just telling someone else in WP about Klondike Days. Everyone celebrated the Gold Rush. People dressed up (like Saloon Owners, Card Sharks, Klondike Girls) and there’s a midway. We still have the midway but no body dresses up now and they shortened it to K Days.

  4. This makes me so nostalgic!

  5. Do they still have the Popcorn festivals in Hamburg, Iowa? You might want to check out my recent posting and maybe you know something about the Nutting Parties they had in Red Oak, Iowa back in your Grandma’s days: http://marygilmartin.wordpress.com/2013/09/09/books-a-photographic-history-of-iowa-1860-1920/

  6. Pingback: Old Football Program | Braman's Wanderings

  7. Angie Hickman Podany says:

    Love the old pictures of my home town. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Pingback: Old Book of Poems | Braman's Wanderings

  9. Pingback: Hamburg Centennial | Braman's Wanderings

  10. Pingback: Hamburg Centennial Necktie | Braman's Wanderings

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.