Different Colored Blooms

Another busy Wednesday, so a quick post.

One of the rose bushes that grows in front of my house will sometimes have a few different colored blooms.

Rose blooms - Different color on same bush - Red and Yellow

The blooms on this rose bush are usually a nice bright yellow color, but sometimes a few nice red buds will show up. When they open the color starts to fade into a really beautiful reddish orange color.

Rose blooms - Different color on same bush - Red and Yellow

I am not sure why I get these different colored blooms on my rose bush. Perhaps I should do more research, or maybe someone knows the answer and can let me know in the comments. I do know that they usually show up in about the same place, but not every year. They also may show up for just a month or so in the middle of the blooming period, which here in California lasts about 8-9 months.

I really like it when they show up, but am not disappointed if I go a year without seeing them. They are always a nice surprise, and when they don’t show up I still have beautiful yellow blooms.

I hope you enjoyed these beautiful blooms, I always do. My roses remind me of my Grandpa who would always bring plants to us from the nursery he worked in.

Steven

4 responses to “Different Colored Blooms

  1. Bless your heart. Those are beautiful, how lucky to see these every day in your yard. I’m totally envious.

  2. Glenda McDougal

    They are beautiful!! From what I understand they at one time were grafted on, but change through the years. Does that sound plausible??

  3. Pingback: Valentine Roses | Braman's Wanderings

  4. Same thing happened to me for the first time . My 6 year old peach colored rose bush bore one red rose that I just noticed this morning. The red one is smaller than its counterpart peach roses which by the way, bloomed larger this year. I was so excited, I took photos and video of it. Wish I can post it here :)

Leave a Reply

