Remembering Grandma

Today would have been my Grandma’s 93rd birthday.Grandma High School Picture - Agnes Van DuzorThe picture above was taken while my Grandma was in High School.

I have so many great memories of my Grandma. She was the family historian and helped build my love of History and Genealogy. I have so many memories of stories that she would tell and her knowledge of history. Not only the history of our family, but also the history of our country. As I leaf through the many scrapbooks that she kept I get a great sense of her love of history. There are also many other great memories. She really loved to do needlework. Whenever I see beautiful embroidery work I think of her.

Tomorrow I plan a post that combines History and Genealogy, and I will again remember my Grandma.

Steven

47 responses to “Remembering Grandma

  1. Wow, just imagine the world events making an impression on a high school studen in the mid 30’s..FDR in office, the great depression, The 2nd WW just around the corner, so many things shape our lives. Mostly the people we love too. I can see your Gramma was an important part of your life, that’s so dear. I think she was really pretty too.

  2. Glenda McDougal

    My granny lived to be 93. She was wonderful, had a tremendous sense of humor. Something interesting to me …our g-daughter was born in 2003, I was born in 1943, my Dad in 1913, his Mom in 1893, her Dad in 1853. Thank you for posting …

  3. Glenda McDougal

    Your photo just now popped up, your Grandma was beautiful …

  4. I’m just catching up on your bogs and seeing your GrandMothers picture.
    She as a very pretty lady. I can see your sister, Loretta, in her. I remember when she lived with your parents in Linn.

  5. Pingback: Remembering Grandma « Mood Indigo

  6. Pingback: President Lincoln | Braman's Wanderings

  7. Pingback: Remembering Grandpa | Braman's Wanderings

  8. Pingback: Old-Time Photography III | Braman's Wanderings

  9. Pingback: Lincoln’s Birthday | Braman's Wanderings

  10. Pingback: Lincoln’s Birthday | Braman's Wanderings

  11. Pingback: Irish Heritage | Braman's Wanderings

  12. The photo is wonderful I really like the kind, yet inquisitive, expression on your grandmother’s face.

  13. Pingback: Spirit, Courage and Thoughtful Action | Braman's Wanderings

  14. Pingback: Planting Time | Braman's Wanderings

  15. Pingback: John Foster Dulles | Braman's Wanderings

  16. Pingback: Popcorn Festival Floats | Braman's Wanderings

  17. Pingback: Spirit of ’76 | Braman's Wanderings

  18. Pingback: Moon Landing | Braman's Wanderings

  19. Pingback: A Little Prince | Braman's Wanderings

  20. Pingback: Canadian Royal Tour | Braman's Wanderings

  21. Pingback: Grandpa or Grandma? | Braman's Wanderings

  22. Pingback: I Won’t Be A Dictator! | Braman's Wanderings

  23. Pingback: “Go With Gary” | Braman's Wanderings

  24. Pingback: Remembering Grandma II | Braman's Wanderings

  25. Pingback: Old Sheet Music | Braman's Wanderings

  26. Pingback: Little League Baseball | Braman's Wanderings

  27. Pingback: Hamburg Memories | Braman's Wanderings

  28. Pingback: Queen’s Birthday? | Braman's Wanderings

  29. Pingback: Old Football Program | Braman's Wanderings

  30. Pingback: The Perfect Game | Braman's Wanderings

  31. Pingback: Homecoming Floats | Braman's Wanderings

  32. Pingback: Hamburg Buildings | Braman's Wanderings

  33. Pingback: The Gettysburg Address | Braman's Wanderings

  34. Pingback: 50 Years Ago | Braman's Wanderings

  35. Pingback: Classic Holiday Cards | Braman's Wanderings

  36. Pingback: Classic Candle Cards | Braman's Wanderings

  37. Pingback: Hamburg Grade Schools | Braman's Wanderings

  38. Pingback: Little League Football | Braman's Wanderings

  39. Pingback: Early Winter Driving II | Braman's Wanderings

  40. Pingback: 12 Days | Braman's Wanderings

  41. Pingback: Grandma’s Scrapbooks | Braman's Wanderings

  42. Pingback: Audubon | Braman's Wanderings

  43. Pingback: Challenger Memories | Braman's Wanderings

  44. Pingback: Old-Time Photography IV | Braman's Wanderings

  45. Pingback: Remembering Grandpa II | Braman's Wanderings

  46. Pingback: Old School Books | Braman's Wanderings

  47. Pingback: Harriet Quimby | Braman's Wanderings

Leave a Reply

