Eating Watermelon

Another one of those days where I have been thinking about a picture and just can’t get it out of my mind.

This is one of my favorite pictures from the family archives:

Eating Watermelon - Watermelon - Colorado - Barrel Springs Ranch - ranch - Summertime - Eating Watermelon

How to eat a Watermelon

I love the great big piece of watermelon that my Great Great Aunt Florine is eating in this picture. She looks like she is showing her niece the proper technique for eating watermelon.

There is just so much about this picture that I like. The expression of Florine is really cool, you can see a big smile peeking out from behind the watermelon. She looks so relaxed as she sits with her legs draped over the wall. The saddle shoes of her niece seem to glow in this picture as the sun reflects off of them.

I also like the rustic look of the structure behind her. I am not sure exactly what the structure is, but the picture was taken at Barrel Springs Ranch near Lamar, Colorado.  Perhaps it is the base of a windmill? In any case, I like the shadows on the wall behind it, and also the reflection of the cross braces in the window to the right.

The picture brings back so many memories of eating watermelon. I remember eating watermelon at potlucks, picnics, county fairs, family dinners, etc.. Also, it reminds me of eating watermelon in Asia where it is a common after dinner treat. Of course, the way that I like watermelon best is to have a nice big piece, maybe not as big as Florine’s, but at least a half slice. Then have a salt shaker in hand to sprinkle a little salt on it to enhance the flavor. Then it is time to chomp away and enjoy the wonderful taste while being careful to not bite into any seeds. Of course, who doesn’t like to see how far they can spit those seeds? But, don’t try it in a fancy restaurant, you may get some dirty looks :-). The best place to eat watermelon is outdoors on a hot sunny day so you can get the maximum enjoyment of a nice cold slice of deliciousness. Who cares if some of the juice dribbles down your chin :-). Just enjoy!

Steven

6 responses to “Eating Watermelon

  1. There’s nothing like a slice of watermelon on a hot summer day! I still prefer the taste of old-fashioned watermelons with lots of seeds–though they seem to be more and more difficult to find with each passing summer.

  2. When we were kids, you could only get watermelon in the summer, so it really was something you looked forward too. You’re right Sheryl, the seeded variety are harder to find now. I’ve even seen yellow watermelons…I don’t know, why mess with a good thing?

  3. Glenda McDougal

    Thanks Stewart!! Love the picture and especially your descriptive comments!! We are raising watermelons this year, so delicious and drippy :-)

  4. I love this post, almost as much as I love watermelon. You know, I can’t even think of any other fruit that can compare in either taste, or fun-to-eat-ness…

  5. I remember entering a watermelon eating contest when I visited my grandparents in Illinois. I was too shy to enter by myself so didn’t go with my age group but then it was my brother age group and I wanted to go, the judges let me. Had I gone in my own age group I think I could have won! lol I love to cut my watermelon in chunks, deseed it, and eat it with a fork. I’ve never understood the salt on watermelon but I remember my gma eating it tht way. I’m actually mildly allergic to watermelon and some fruit but the itching is worth it!

Leave a Reply

